“please excuse the lateness of my reply”

When I started this blog, I swore to myself that I would never post one of those “blogs about blogging” blogs.  But then I logged on, realized that it had been over a year since I posted anything, noticed the wordpress interface had even changed, and contemplated why it has been so long.  The following are a list of my excuses:

1)  Busy with other things.   It’s not like I have been lazy.  I’ve gotten quite a bit done in the past year.  But, much of it does not relate to the theme of this blog.

2)  Lack of focus.  I actually have a few draft blogs that I never published because I started writing them, had to go to work, and then never completed them.

3)  The feeling that it doesn’t matter in the long run.  Who am I writing this for? Do I care if few people read or leave comments?  I’ve spent considerable time over the past year writing in a personal journal.  Is that what this is if nobody reads it – a personal journal?  Am I trying to attract readers or teach people something?  It’s hard to stay focused if I feel that it has no purpose.  In the past, I hoped for the “breakthrough” post – the one that gets me recognition or the feeling that I taught something to someone.  And that kept me posting.

4)  i wonder if this is the best format for what I want to do.  If I want to share scientific and natural curiosity – is there a better format these days for doing that?

So, there is my “blog about blogging” blog. I will try to get back into this – but no guarantees.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “please excuse the lateness of my reply”

  1. Belle says:

    And all this time I thought I was “unfriended” cuz I didn’t comment. Glad you’ve been busy. Hope to see more blogging in the future. How’s your garden doing these days?

Leave a comment